Book Tour: Gathering of the Four

Gathering of the Four: Book One of the Serrulata Saga
A.E Bennett
April 2, 2021

"In the Realm, every citizen knows their place."

Leora of Mae is a young woman orphaned at birth and raised on a remote farm. As a wielder of Xanthcraft, her abilities set her apart from her adoptive family and the other villagers.

Shortly before her twentieth birthday, she learns of her family’s plot to sell her into servitude. Fearing for her life, she flees from the only home she’s ever known—defying societal conventions and breaking the edicts of the Realm.

As she runs, Leora meets Roland Shallowbrook, a traveler on the Thieves’ Road; Lady Aurora Verte, daughter of a powerful member of the gentry; and the White Rider Leopold, a soldier with a secret.

Together, this found family will have to band together to survive.

Set in the distant future during the return of the Hale-Bopp comet, Gathering of the Four is the first book in The Serrulata Saga.

My Review

I really like the diversity in the characters of this book. Each one was unique and misfits, but they all worked well together. There was not a favorite among the four...Leora, Roland, Lady Aurora Verte, and Leopold that I had. Partly this is due to the fact, that I did find myself struggling a bit to fully connect with everyone on a strong emotional level; despite me liking them. 

The journey that these four takes is filled with plenty of danger. It helps as it keeps the storyline moving and exciting. There were many opportunities for each of them to show their skills. While I did not "love" this book, I did "like" it enough that I would read book two. 

Warning as the "f" word is used in this book. However, it is not abused but used for the appropriate times. 

Author Bio: 
A.E. Bennett (she/her) lives in Washington, D.C.
She is originally from North Carolina.

Author Links:

Gathering of the Four


Popular posts from this blog

Let's Get Buck Naked!

8 Apps Every Writer Should Have

Don't Say a Word: A Daughter's Two Cents