Posts

Showing posts from November, 2019

Nash

Image
The first-ever book about Nash Grier, one of the biggest digital superstars in the world.

When he was still in high school, Nash Grier had no idea his life was about to change—forever. With the launch of the popular Vine app came the beginning of Nash’s career as a viral social media sensation. Now, in his official biography, the twenty-one-year-old digital media phenomenon shares never-before-told stories about life behind the camera. From growing up as a regular kid in North Carolina, to finding his calling as a top social media tastemaker, to landing leading roles in major feature films, to being a millennial ambassador for top brands, to using his platform to promote change, to leaning on the love and support from his fan base when the going gets tough, this is the story of a how Nash found his voice—and how readers can find their own.


My Review

Before this book, I had never heard of Nash Grier. I am not huge on social media. Yes, I have a Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram accounts b…

A Girl Named Anna

Image
If your whole life is a lie, who can you trust?

Raised in a quiet rural community, Anna has always been taught that her mamma’s rules are the only path to follow. But, on her eighteenth birthday, she defies her mamma for the first time in her life and goes to Astroland. She’s never been allowed to visit Florida’s biggest theme park, so why, when she arrives, does everything about it seem so familiar? And is there a connection to the mysterious letter she receives that same day—a letter addressing her by a different name?

Rosie has grown up in the shadow of the missing sister she barely remembers, her family fractured by years of searching without leads. Now, on the fifteenth anniversary of her sister’s disappearance, the media circus resumes as the funds dedicated to the search dry up, and Rosie vows to uncover the truth herself. But can she find the answer before it tears her family apart?

Winner of the Daily Mail First Novel Competition, A Girl Named Anna is a psychologically riveting …

How Beautiful They Were

Image
A novel about the American theatre of the 1850s.

The New York theatre of that era was the Hollywood of its day, with all its trademark insanities. It was everything that was America. Its beauty and excitement, its rise and fall of personalities, its joys and desperations, selfish corruptions and violence. Even its hatred and racism.

Enter Colonel Tearwood's American Theatre Company. Helmed by actor Nathanial Luck and playwright Robert Harrison, it revolutionizes the theatre of the times by bringing daily life to the stage: Love affairs, social corruption, political intrigue, violence and death grip the audience as backstage the players' fortunes rise and fall and rise again in an all too human play. There's dashing Nathaniel Luck, hunted for the Pickwick Paper murders; beautiful Genevieve Wells, a con artist and swindler; Rosina Swain, aspiring actress in search of a father; and Robert Harrison, scion of a wealthy family, who was burned and disfigured in the infamous Wall …

The Chestnut Man

Image
IF YOU FIND ONE, HE’S ALREADY FOUND YOU A psychopath is terrorizing Copenhagen. His calling card is a “chestnut man”―a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts―which he leaves at each bloody crime scene. Examining the dolls, forensics makes a shocking discovery―a fingerprint belonging to a young girl, a government minister’s daughter who had been kidnapped and murdered a year ago. A tragic coincidence―or something more twisted? To save innocent lives, a pair of detectives must put aside their differences to piece together the Chestnut Man’s gruesome clues. Because it’s clear that the madman is on a mission that is far from over. And no one is safe.


My Review I was drawn to this book by both the premise of the story and the cover. Also, I am a fan of the television show, The Killing. I have the book but have not read it yet. Ok, so the killer's calling card of leaving little chestnut dolls at every crime scene does send chills down your spine. Than, when the police figur…

The Last Affair with Margot Hunt

Image
THE LAST AFFAIR
Author: Margot Hunt
ISBN: 9780778309222
Publication Date: November 26, 2019
Publisher: MIRA BOOKS


BOOK SUMMARY:
Gwen Landon—poster woman for perfect wife, mother, and suburban bliss—is found brutally bludgeoned to death behind her Floridian McMansion. Beautiful and beloved by her community, Gwen makes an unlikely victim. But just a scratch below the surface of her perfectly curated world reveals one far more sinister. When looking back over the six months leading up to her death, the question of, “who would do this?” quickly shifts to, “who wouldn’t?”

Commercially successful food blogger and mother of three, Nora Holliday never imagined she would have the nerve, let alone time, to get involved an affair. Trapped in an unhappy marriage, she does whatever it takes to keep it all together. But when Nora runs into Gwen Landon's husband at a hotel in Orlando, his easy kindness and warmth proves too tempting to resist. As their affair spirals dangerously out of control, it …

The Chosen One

Image
“The Chosen One” Walt Gragg | Nov. 19, 2019 | Berkley | Military Thriller Paperback | 9781984806338 | $17 Ebook | 9781984806345 | $12.99 AUSTIN, Texas
– In 2017, former prosecutor and military veteran Walt Gragg exploded onto the literary scene with his stellar and award-winning debut The Red Line. Now, Gragg follows up his epic first novel with another intense military thriller, The Chosen One (Nov. 19, 2019, Berkley), and the stakes are even higher for the world as we know it.
The new leader of the Islamic world, the Mahdi — also known as the Chosen One — has risen up, rallying forces across the Middle East and driving them deep into Saudi Arabia and Egypt. Standing in the fundamentalists’ way are forces made up of mostly American troops lodging desperate warfare and fighting waves of missiles as the Mahdi continuously unrolls the tricks up his sleeve.      
In the thick of it is Marine Lieutenant Sam Erickson, who’s fought with his company all the way from the Mediterranean to the out…

Murder with Cherry Tarts

Image
In Pennsylvania's Amish country, Daisy Swanson has a tea shop to run, a daughter to marry off--and a murder to solve . . .

Daisy's worried one of her employees at Daisy's Tea Garden may be in a spot of trouble. Lately Karina's been loading up on soup and second-day baked goods at the end of her shift--and while the shop's scrumptious treats may be hard to resist, Daisy suspects there's more going on, especially since Karina has been seen hanging out in a rundown part of Willow Creek.

Planning her own daughter's wedding is enough to keep her busy, but Daisy can't help feeling a protective maternal instinct--and an instinct to investigate. It turns out Karina has been helping a down-on-his luck single dad who's been making ends meet--barely--by selling antiques at a place called Pirated Treasures.

But when an employee at the antiques store is bludgeoned to death with a marble rolling pin, Karina's new friend is suspect number one. Though the motives …

Day Zero with Kelly Devos

Image
DAY ZERO
Author: Kelly deVos
ISBN:  978-1335008480
Publication Date: 11/12/19
Publisher: Inkyard Press

Book Summary: Don’t miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane, featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.
If you’re going through hell…keep going.
Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.
But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning bui…