Posts

Big Freedia: God Save the Queen Diva!

Image
  New Orleans, LA -- The critically acclaimed memoir Big Freedia: God Save the Queen Diva! (Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster; $16) will be released in paperback on December 1, 2020 and is available for pre-order now. “I am so excited about the paperback release,” says Big Freedia, whose star has risen since the release of the hardcover book. “Now more than ever, I’m looking forward to sharing my story with the next generation — from activists to LGBTQ+ youth to any ally. I truly believe my story can have a unifying effect.” In this eye-opening memoir that bursts with energy, you’ll be transported into the world of Big Freedia, following her path from an overweight gay choir boy to the reigning queen of New Orleans Bounce. Readers will learn the history of Bounce, the New Orleans twist on hip-hop, and meet all of the colorful characters who pepper its music scene. Big Freedia reveals the inside story of her path to fame, the peaks and valleys of her personal life, and the liberation t

Memories in the Drift

Image
  Melissa Payne, bestselling author of  The Secrets of Lost Stones , returns with another haunting and hopeful novel about redemption, the power of memory, and a woman’s will to reclaim her life. My name is Claire. I’m thirty-six years old. It’s September. I know what I’m doing and why I am here…for now. Ten years ago, Claire Hines lost her unborn child—and her short-term memory—following a heartrending tragedy. With notebooks, calendars, to-do lists, fractured pieces of the past, and her father’s support, Claire makes it through each day, hour by hour, with relative confidence. She also has a close-knit community of friends in the remote Alaskan town where she teaches guitar to the local children. It’s there, in the reminders. As determined as Claire is to regain all that’s disappeared, she’d prefer to live without some memories of her  before  life—especially those of her mother, Alice, who abandoned her, and Tate, the ex-boyfriend who broke her heart. But when Alice and Tate return

Laxmi's Mooch

Image
  A joyful, body-positive picture book about a young Indian American girl's journey to accept her body hair and celebrate her heritage after being teased about her mustache. Laxmi never paid much attention to the tiny hairs above her lip. But one day while playing farm animals at recess, her friends point out that her whiskers would make her the perfect cat. She starts to notice body hair all over--on her arms, legs, and even between her eyebrows. With her parents' help, Laxmi learns that hair isn't just for heads, but that it grows everywhere, regardless of gender. Featuring affirming text by Shelly Anand and exuberant, endearing illustrations by Nabi H. Ali,  Laxmi's Mooch  is a celebration of our bodies and our body hair, in whichever way they grow. My Review This is a cute book. Laxmi is so sweet. I loved how her mom gave her some good examples of women that have mooches...Mughai empresses, rani, her nana, cousin, and mom. Laxmi asked about her eyebrows having hair

Serpent Rising

Image
Serena Mendez is haunted and she is hunted… SERPENT RISING By Victor Acquista Serena Mendez is haunted and she is hunted… … Haunted by trauma—terrified and scarred as a young child, when a secret initiation into an ancient order of Lightbringers went horribly wrong. Unaware of the power latent in her blood, she is haunted by a life out of sync with her true identity. At twenty-one, she is abrasive, jobless, in debt, and addicted to sedatives. Haunted by her past, she knows nothing of her destiny. … Hunted by an enemy—ruthless and powerful, a Brotherhood that has been pitted against the Luminarian Sects for thousands of years. An ancient struggle continues—The War of the Two Serpents—a saga extending back to the dawn of civilization, to the time of the second breaking, when the elite sought dominion over the masses. Those serving truth and light opposed these dark forces. In return they were persecuted, burned as witches, suppressed and nearly defeated by the powers of dark

5,203 Things to Do Instead of Looking at Your Phone

Image
  Because life is calling.   Put down your phone, close the lid on your laptop, and get back in touch with the wonders of the world around you. With thousands of ideas for simple, beautiful things to do instead of scrolling down the rabbit hole of cyberspace, this healing little book offers the opportunity, 5,203 times, to slow down, look up, and rediscover what makes you feel nourished and grounded as a human being. With illustrations throughout by Scot Ritchie. And here are some ideas from the book to get you started: Smile at a stranger Put a bag in your car for litter Write a letter to your future self Plan a 24-hour liquid diet Notice the air on your skin Do calligraphy for a party invitation Go for a silent drive Make an accordion book Plan a beach day Visit a botanical garden  Keep a journal of the most beautiful things you see Talk to someone who needs company Design a book cover Watch a cat drink or eat My Review This is a fun guide book. During the current state of events in

Pretending

Image
  Pretending : A Novel  Holly Bourne On Sale Date: November 17, 2020 9780778331506, 0778331504 Trade Paperback $17.99 USD 416 pages ABOUT THE BOOK: In this hilarious and heartbreaking debut novel perfect for fans of Fleabag, a woman struggling to move on after a traumatic relationship pretends to be “the perfect girl” in an act of vengeance that goes awry when she finds herself emotionally compromised. He said he was looking for a 'partner in crime' which everyone knows is shorthand for 'a woman who isn't real'. April is kind, pretty, and relatively normal - yet she can't seem to get past date five. Every time she thinks she's found someone to trust, they reveal themselves to be awful, leaving her heartbroken. And angry. Until she realizes that what men are really looking for is Gretel. Gretel is perfect - beautiful but low maintenance, sweet but never clingy, sexy but not a slut. She's a Regular Everyday Manic Pixie Dream Girl Next Door With No Problems

Love and Honor

Image
  Jessica thought she was prepared to be married to a soldier, but with each deployment, Danny pulled further and further away, and she felt her love hadn’t been enough. Even his best friend, Anton couldn’t seem to reach him. Before his last deployment, Danny told Anton to always take care of Jessica, as if he knew his fate. When Danny returns home in a casket, the guilt of not being able to save him comes crashing down on them both. And for Anton, he carries the guilt of always loving Jessica but keeping those feelings to himself. Can Anton honor Danny’s request and convince Jessica to cast aside their guilt in order to turn their friendship into love? My Review I liked this short story from author, Laura M. Baird. While, there is chemistry shared between Jessica and Anton, it was just a sliver featured in this story. The moment(s) were short and brief. Although, it was enough to allow me to imagine Jessica and Anton settling down and having a good life together.  I think any reader w