Posts

The Chosen One

Image
“The Chosen One” Walt Gragg | Nov. 19, 2019 | Berkley | Military Thriller Paperback | 9781984806338 | $17 Ebook | 9781984806345 | $12.99 AUSTIN, Texas
– In 2017, former prosecutor and military veteran Walt Gragg exploded onto the literary scene with his stellar and award-winning debut The Red Line. Now, Gragg follows up his epic first novel with another intense military thriller, The Chosen One (Nov. 19, 2019, Berkley), and the stakes are even higher for the world as we know it.
The new leader of the Islamic world, the Mahdi — also known as the Chosen One — has risen up, rallying forces across the Middle East and driving them deep into Saudi Arabia and Egypt. Standing in the fundamentalists’ way are forces made up of mostly American troops lodging desperate warfare and fighting waves of missiles as the Mahdi continuously unrolls the tricks up his sleeve.      
In the thick of it is Marine Lieutenant Sam Erickson, who’s fought with his company all the way from the Mediterranean to the out…

Murder with Cherry Tarts

Image
In Pennsylvania's Amish country, Daisy Swanson has a tea shop to run, a daughter to marry off--and a murder to solve . . .

Daisy's worried one of her employees at Daisy's Tea Garden may be in a spot of trouble. Lately Karina's been loading up on soup and second-day baked goods at the end of her shift--and while the shop's scrumptious treats may be hard to resist, Daisy suspects there's more going on, especially since Karina has been seen hanging out in a rundown part of Willow Creek.

Planning her own daughter's wedding is enough to keep her busy, but Daisy can't help feeling a protective maternal instinct--and an instinct to investigate. It turns out Karina has been helping a down-on-his luck single dad who's been making ends meet--barely--by selling antiques at a place called Pirated Treasures.

But when an employee at the antiques store is bludgeoned to death with a marble rolling pin, Karina's new friend is suspect number one. Though the motives …

Day Zero with Kelly Devos

Image
DAY ZERO
Author: Kelly deVos
ISBN:  978-1335008480
Publication Date: 11/12/19
Publisher: Inkyard Press

Book Summary: Don’t miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane, featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.
If you’re going through hell…keep going.
Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.
But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning bui…

The Transformation

Image
Dr. Gordon believes that trauma and anxiety from climate-related disasters — as well as school shootings, unemployment, poverty and opioid addiction — are best treated as public health crises, rather than medical issues. 
In The Transformation, Dr. Gordon teaches readers that each of us has the capacity to heal ourselves. Outlining a proven, step-by-step method, he demonstrates how to reverse the damage caused by trauma and to restore hope.
Offering inspirational stories, eye-opening research, and innovative prescriptive support, the book makes accessible for the first time the methods that Dr. Gordon has developed and used to relieve the suffering of hundreds of thousands of adults and children around the world.
In his role as the founder and executive director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine (CMBM), Dr. Gordon has led teams to relieve population-wide psychological trauma: during and after wars in the Balkans and Middle East; after climate related disasters in Louisiana, Texas, Ca…

Casa Christmas in November + Giveaway

Image
Can you believe Christmas is right around the corner? To celebrate, we asked the authors of our 2019 Christmas titles to answer some fun, wintry and Christmas themed questions!
Fall in love this Christmas and be sure to read:
⦁ Longing for a Cowboy Christmas by Leigh Greenwood, Rosanne Bittner, Linda Broday, Margaret Brownley, Anna Schmidt, and Amy Sandas
⦁ Wish Upon a Cowboy by Jennie Marts
⦁ Cowboy Christmas Kiss by Kim Redofrd
⦁ Cowboy Christmas Homecoming by June Faver
⦁ A Dash of Christmas by Samantha Chase
⦁ Puppy Christmas by Lucy Gilmore
⦁ Silver Town Wolf: Home for the Holidays by Terry Spear

Keep reading to get in the Christmas spirit and check out the books over at Romance Reads!
***
What’s the best part about writing a Christmas book?

Rosanne Bittner: The best part about writing a Christmas story is that it takes me into that “miracle” mood that seems to be a part of the Christmas holiday. I always try to include some kind of little miracle in my stories. In last year’s an…