Posts

Showing posts from March, 2020

Copycat Killer

Image
Book description: Murder strikes close to home for a new K-9 unit in Brooklyn. When a double homicide is strikingly familiar to a twenty-year-old cold case, Detective Nate Slater is rattled by the parallels. With a child as the only witness, he and his K-9 partner must protect little Lucy and her aunt, Willow Emery. Nate’s rough past means he always keeps an emotional distance…but in this case getting closer is the only way they’ll all survive.

Purchase links:
Goodreads:  
Amazon: 
Barnes & Noble: 
Google: 
IndieBound: 
Harlequin.com:



About Laura Scott: Laura Scott is honored to write for the Love Inspired Suspense line, where a reader can find a heartwarming journey of faith amid the thrilling danger. She lives with her husband of twenty-five years and has two children, a daughter and a son, who are both in college. She works as a critical-care nurse during the day at a large level-one trauma center in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and spends her spare time writing romance. Visit Laura at www…

Beast Heart

Image
When the girl with the clockwork hand meets the boy with the beast heart, sparks fly in this poignant, adventure-filled debut. Book 1 of the Steambound Trilogy. When Gabby’s hand turns to steam, her mom hires an engineer to build her a clockwork glove. It’s the last thing Gabby wants—if only she could be normal. But when her mom is attacked by something monstrous, normal is no longer an option. Now the only person she can turn to is a grizzled detective, who promises to help her become something … more. Meanwhile, Kemple’s foster dad treats him like a slave. And the beatings are getting worse. So when a rebellious girl named Josephyn arrives—with a plan to escape to the city—he doesn’t hesitate. But there are creatures in Iron Bay whose slashes are worse than skin-deep. And as Kemple evolves into something inhuman, his search for a cure begins. They are strangers in a city where carriages rattle, airships rumble, and where their own dark pasts continue to haunt them. Soon their paths w…

Meet Henrietta and Inspector Howard + Giveaway

Image
Join Us for this Series Spotlight Tour from Mar 16 to April 3, 2020! SERIES DETAILS:
Series Title:  Henrietta and Inspector Howard by Michelle Cox
Category:  AdultFiction (18+)
Genre:  Historical Mystery
Publisher:  She Writes Press
Release dates: April 2016; April 2017; April 2018; April 2019; April 2020
Tour dates: Mar 16 to April 3, 2020
Content Rating: R: Books 1-2 do not have any sex scenes, though there is sexual reference, Books 3-5 do have explicit sex scenes (tasteful). There is periodic swearing and violence, but not a lot. There are some dark themes (though not graphic examples) of suicide, prostitution, mob involvement, rape, drinking, homosexuality.

SERIES DESCRIPTION:
A GIRL LIKE YOU: Beautiful Henrietta Von Harmon works as a 26 girl at a corner bar, Poor Pete’s, on Chicago’s northwest side. It’s 1935, but things still aren’t looking up since the big crash and her father’s subsequent suicide. Left to care for her antagonistic mother and seven younger siblings, Henrietta is…

Introducing the Tactical Crime Division

Image
Perfect for fans of Criminal Minds and Blacklist...
Uncover the lives and loves of the FBI elite as they take on the toughest assignments. This is a new four-book miniseries featuring an ensemble cast of characters spread across 4 books, featuring 4 urgent cases, with one stellar team of crime solving experts.
The Tactical Crime Division—TCD—is a specialized unit of the FBI. Because of the growing concerns and need for ever increasing response time to criminal events, the FBI created a specialized tech and tactical team combing specialists from several active divisions that include: weapons, crime scene investigation, protection, negotiation and IT.
Each title can be read as a standalone novel, featuring a unique hard to solve crime case.





Book #1: 48 Hour Lockdown by Carla Cassidy (on-sale March 17, 2020)
Book description: The Tactical Crime Division—TCD—is a specialized unit of the FBI.They handle the toughest cases in the most remote locations. When TCD learns of a school invasion t…

The Budapest Escape

Image
The Budapest Escape by Bill Rapp (Epicenter Press; on-sale November 2019)
CIA officer Karl Baier has been running a highly-placed source in the Communist Party and Hungarian government from his post in Vienna for over a year. When he receives a warning that his source is in danger, Baier knows he will have to return to Budapest to find and rescue his agent if he is even alive. Despite resistance from CIA Headquarters in Washington, Baier and a colleague will have to locate the Hungarian agent, overcome his reluctance and skepticism, dodge Soviet tanks, evade Red Army patrols, escape from KGB prisons, and disobey orders from Washington as they search for a way to freedom. Along the way he will discover support and betrayal where he least expected it.

My Review
This book read like an espionage novel with a hint of James Bond. CIA officer Karl Baier is a good main character. I found him likable but intelligent at the same time. The world that author, Mr. Bill Rapp built for this book was go…

Who Rescued Who

Image
About WHO RESCUED WHO


Elizabeth Barnes, social media influencer and self-made woman, has no time for nonsense. Her world is fast-paced, and to stay on top, she needs to keep moving, posting, swiping, and developing engaging content more quickly than the rest of Silicon Valley.

And then, Elizabeth’s big plans come screeching to a halt when she’s unjustly fired from her job at a major tech firm.

Scrambling to set her life back on course, Elizabeth packs her bags and heads to the tiny town of Fargrove, England, to meet an estranged aunt and uncle who claim to hold a piece of her inheritance from her deceased father. Her plan is simple: get what she came for and return to Silicon Valley to reclaim her tech throne and take down her former boss.

Fargrove is a land of the locals, with remote internet access and even a few sheep roaming the fields. Elizabeth’s aunt and uncle are welcoming and kind, but she’s ready to high-tail it back to San Francisco ASAP. But when Elizabeth stumbles up…

Act of Murder

Image
Doc Brady became an orthopedic surgeon to avoid being surrounded by death. But now it's everywhere around him.

One spring day in 1994 Houston, Dr. Jim Bob Brady witnesses his neighbor's ten-year-old son killed by a hit-and-run driver. An accident, or an act of murder? After the death, Brady enlists the help of his twenty-year-old son J. J. and his wife Mary Louise in chasing down clues that take them deeper and deeper into a Houston he never imagined existed. In the process, they discover a macabre conspiracy stretching from the ivory towers of the largest teaching hospital in Texas, to the upper reaches of Houston's legal community, to the shores of Galveston.

Doc Brady soon realizes that the old adage remains true: The love of money is the root of all evil.



My Review


I liked this book. As far as a medical thriller goes, Dr. Bishop's knowledge really lends well to this book. The main character Doc Brady makes different medical references throughout the book. Yet, in a rea…