Posts

Showing posts from October, 2018

Murder by Perfection + Giveaway

Image
Audiobook Details:

Book Title: Murder by Perfection by Lauren Carr
Series: Thorny Rose Mystery Series (Volume 3)
Genre: Murder Mystery
Publisher: Acorn Book Services
Release date: Aug 28, 2018
Narrator: Mike Alger
Length: 8 hours, 32 minutes, unabridged
Tour dates: Oct 8 to Nov 2, 2018
Content Rating: PG (mild violence and sexual suggestion)

Book Description:

Perfection can be a fatal endeavor.

Frustrated with their busy schedules, Murphy Thornton and Jessica Faraday attempt to find togetherness by scheduling a weekly date night. The last thing Jessica Faraday expected for her date night was to take a couple’s gourmet cooking course at the Stepford Kitchen Studio, owned by Chef Natalie Stepford―the model of perfection in looks, home, and business.

When Natalie ends up dead and Murphy goes missing, the Thorny Rose detectives must peel back the layers of Natalie Stepford’s life to discover that the pursuit of perfection can be deadly.



My Review

I have listened to a bunch of audio books fr…

Storm Taken + Giveaway

Image
Book Details:

Book Title: Storm Taken by William Michael Davidson
Category: Adult fiction, 268 pages
Genre: Thriller, Sci-fi
Publisher: Clean Reads
Release date: July 16, 2018
Tour dates: Oct 15 to Nov 9, 2018
Content Rating: PG-13 + M (There's a few graphic scenes with violence, alluded to adult situations as far as sex is concerned. But no real profanity and anything explicit.)

Book Description:

Trapped on Naples Island, Eddie Dees does everything he can to hold his family together. A supernatural storm is feeding on people’s fear and paranoia. The more people turn on each other, the stronger it becomes.

Believing there are small, systematic breaks in the storm, he plans to make his way off the island with as many residents as possible. But he must first deal with the crazed gunman roaming the streets as well as another growing threat: Klutch, a violent army vet suffering PTSD, has recruited a band of followers who believe the storm is a weaponized weather experiment gone awry. K…

The Caged Butterfly

Image
THE CAGED BUTTERFLY by Marian L. Thomas, Women's Fiction, 307 pp., $5.99 (Kindle)




Title: THE CAGED BUTTERFLY
Author: Marian L. Thomas
Publisher: L.B. Publishing
Pages: 307
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Who Would Think That One Act of Love Could Affect Four Generations?
On December 29, 1930, Mildred "Millie" Mayfield gave birth to a beautiful baby girl, Addie. Millie teaches Addie three things that she feels matters most in life; inner beauty, reading books and giving your “special something’ only to the man you marry. Addie lives up to the first two. On one autumn night in 1949, Addie falls for the irresistible red curls and vibrant green eyes of a young man from the other side of the railroad tracks. Neither knowing that the consequences of their love would have lasting effects. Known as one of the greatest white jazz pianists in New York, Timmy Taylor never had a reason to question his identity – until truth and betrayal strike. Will Timmy be able to push past the pa…

Gift Ideas

Image
If you are looking for some gift ideas. Check out these books. There is something for everyone. Enjoy historical fiction or looking to go on an adventure? The Architect's Key is for you. Are you a lover of wine or a wine connoisseur? 50 Ways to Love Wine More is the book you want. Do you have a love one, someone close to you with autism, or like reading memoirs? Space of Love is your choice.


Architect's Key:

 Book Synopsis:

WHAT IF THE GREEK GODS WERE STILL AMONG US? Leo Katsaros, an ambitious architect, goes on a series of trips to the past on a quest to learn from history's greatest master builders. Instead, he finds himself enmeshed in a messy family dispute between two Greek Gods. In this whimsical take on time travel the architect discovers not only surprising things about the world's most famous monuments, but also the secret of his own peculiar origins.  This tale blurs distinctions between past and present in a romp through some of the more perplexing aspects of…

Death by the River + Giveaway

Image
Death by the River by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor on Tour October 1 - November 30, 2018 Synopsis:
A High School "American Psycho"
SOME TRUTHS ARE BETTER KEPT SECRET. SOME SECRETS ARE BETTER OFF DEAD.
Along the banks of the Bogue Falaya River, sits the abandoned St. Francis Seminary. Beneath a canopy of oaks, blocked from prying eyes, the teens of St. Benedict High gather here on Fridays. The rest of the week belongs to school and family—but weekends belong to the river.

And the river belongs to Beau Devereaux.
The only child of a powerful family, Beau can do no wrong. Handsome. Charming. Intelligent. The star quarterback of the football team. The “prince” of St. Benedict is the ultimate catch.
He is also a psychopath.

A dirty family secret buried for years, Beau’s evil grows unchecked. In the shadows of the ruined St. Francis Abbey, he commits unspeakable acts on his victims and ensures their silence with threats and intimidation. Senior year, Beau sets his sights on his …

Dear Santa

Image
Angela Carson wants nothing more than to be the third-generation to run her family’s holiday store, Heart of Christmas, successfully. They’ve weathered over sixty tourist seasons, major hurricanes, and urban sprawl, in their old decommissioned lighthouse. But the national chain that set up shop in their small North Carolina town of Pleasant Sands may be more than Heart of Christmas can survive.

Encouraged by her niece to ask Santa for help, Angela gives in and lets the words fly in a way that, if Santa were real, would no doubt land her on the naughty list. What’s the harm when it’s just a computer-generated response?

Geoff Paisley has been at his mother’s side running the mega-chain Christmas Galore for the last ten years. When his mother falls ill, Geoff promises to answer the town’s Dear Santa letters in her stead. Soon he realizes the woman he’s been corresponding with on Dear Santa is Angela. How could the woman that grates his every last nerve in person have intrigued him so de…

Becoming Mrs. Lewis

Image
In a most improbable friendship, she found love. In a world where women were silenced, she found her voice. From New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan comes an exquisite novel of Joy Davidman, the woman C. S. Lewis called “my whole world.” When poet and writer Joy Davidman began writing letters to C. S. Lewis—known as Jack—she was looking for spiritual answers, not love. Love, after all, wasn’t holding together her crumbling marriage. Everything about New Yorker Joy seemed ill-matched for an Oxford don and the beloved writer of Narnia, yet their minds bonded over their letters. Embarking on the adventure of her life, Joy traveled from America to England and back again, facing heartbreak and poverty, discovering friendship and faith, and against all odds, finding a love that even the threat of death couldn’t destroy. In this masterful exploration of one of the greatest love stories of modern times, we meet a brilliant writer, a fiercely independent mother, and a passionate w…

Alycat and the Friendship Friday + Giveaway

Image
Book Details:

Book Title: Alycat and the Friendship Friday by Alysson Foti Bourque
Illustrated by: Chiara Civati
Category: Children's Fiction, 32 pages
Genre: Picture Book, Friendship
Publisher: Mascot Books
Release date: Oct 23, 2018
Tour dates: Oct 1 to 27, 2018
Content Rating: G

Book Description:

It’s finally Friday, and Alycat is excited to go on a field trip with her friends. But when she doesn’t have anyone to sit with on the bus, Alycat feels left out. Can she use her creativity and imagination to help everyone feel included?

Alycat and the Friendship Friday will teach readers that making new friends isn’t as scary as you might think.

Buy the Book:
Mascot Books
Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Book Depository Books-a-Million Add to Goodreads
Watch the book trailer:






Meet the Author:



Alysson Foti Bourque earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and a Juris Doctor degree from the Southern University Law Center. After pra…

Don't Write a Crappy Book + Giveaway

Image
Book Details:

Book Title: Don't Write a Crappy Book by James M. Ranson
Category: Adult Non- Fiction, 210 pages
Genre: Business, Authorpreneurship
Publisher: Master Wordsmith Media, in association with Thanet House Books
Release date: Oct 1, 2018
Tour dates: Oct 8 to 31, 2018
Content Rating: PG for occasional mild swearing (hell and damn, mostly, one instance of "shitty")

Book Description:

A great book can launch your business into the stratosphere. Unfortunately, most self-published business books rank somewhere between “meh” and “flaming pile of crap.” But your book doesn’t have to suck!

In “Don’t Write a Crappy Book,” editor and entrepreneur James Ranson unpacks the most common–and toxic–mistakes that first-time nonfiction authors make. Peppered with wisdom from a panel of industry experts, this book debunks the dangerous myths that can torpedo your text and offers clear, practical guidance for writing a book you’re proud of. This is the resource for the aspiring author…

Once Upon a Christmas + Giveaway

Image
Is it ever too late for happily ever after...?

Callahan is one of the hottest guys to move into Harper’s Corner in a long time, partly because he’s also a complete mystery.

He keeps to himself and leads a quiet life, rumors swirl around that he used to be in the military...but no one knows where he came from, or what brought him to their small town.

When Stevie’s parents have a health crisis, she’s forced to take leave from her very New York existence: including a high-powered job at a big publishing house and explosive sex life with her wealthy, handsome and appropriately pretentious boyfriend, to step in and ensure the preservation of the family’s longstanding bookstore.

With the first order of business being to fire Callahan, the unqualified shop assistant her dad hired.

Though as many women from Harper’s Corner can tell you, things change when you come back home.

So firing this attractive, brooding, secretive man turns out to be much harder than she originally planned…

And when his…

The Girl They Left Behind + Giveaway

Image
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.


On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, a…