Posts

Showing posts from February, 2020

Watch Hollow: The Alchemist's Shadow

Image
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived within the enchanted woods of Watch Hollow, Lucy and Oliver Tinker now have the home they’ve always dreamed of: Blackford House. Powered by a magical clock and full of curious rooms and improbable knickknacks, Blackford House brims with the promise of new adventures. Yet when a strange governess arrives from England—bringing with her the Kojima twins, Agatha and Algernon—the Tinker children’s once bright future quickly begins to dim. The Kojimas claim to be the rightful heirs to Blackford House, and soon after their arrival, a great evil enters the Tinkers’ new home, cursing it and turning it into an ever-changing labyrinth. As a result, Lucy and Oliver, along with their clock animal friends, must now join forces with the twins to escape this labyrinth and save Blackford House, all while a new monster lurks around the corner.

My Review

Mr. Funaro is back with new characters and old friends in the second installment in this se…

Sisters by Choice

Image
After her cat toy empire goes up in flames, Sophie Lane returns to Blackberry Island, determined to rebuild. Until small-town life reveals a big problem: she can't grow unless she learns to let go. If Sophie relaxes her grip even a little, she might lose everything. Or she might finally be free to reach for the happiness and love that have eluded her for so long.

Kristine has become defined by her relationship to others. She's a wife, a mom. As much as she adores her husband and sons, she wants something for herself—a sweet little bakery just off the waterfront. She knew changing the rules wouldn't be easy, but she never imagined she might have to choose between her marriage and her dreams.


Like the mainland on the horizon, Heather's goals seem beyond her grasp. Every time she manages to save for college, her mother has another crisis. Can she break free, or will she be trapped in this tiny life forever?

My Review

I enjoyed this book. Getting to know Sophie, Kristine, …

Her Homecoming Wish

Image
Book description HER HOMECOMING WISH:
She’s ready to shed her good-girl ways…
“You’re all about following the rules now?
“Pity.”
Mackenzie Wallace hopes there’s still some bad boy lurking beneath single father Danny Adams’s upright exterior. Being the proverbial good girl left her brokenhearted and alone in the past. Now she’s back in town and wants excitement with her high school crush—not love. Dan knows their connection runs deep, despite Mackenzie’s protests. But will their new personas work together—especially when Dan’s secret is exposed?


My Review

This is a sweet read mixed with some humor and a dash of spice. Mac and Danny were good. As much as Mac would like to think she was not such a good girl, she could never fully be a "bad" one. Danny used to be the "bad" boy but with his job as sheriff and his daughter, Chloe; he has lost a lot of his "wild" side. However, being around Mac does bring out some of it in Danny. These two pair nicely with one a…

Dead to Her

Image
For fans of Liane Moriarty, Liv Constantine and Lisa Jewell, a twisty psychological thriller about a savvy second wife who will do almost anything to come out on top from the New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes. Marriage can be murder… 
SOMETHING OLD
Marcie’s affair with Jason Maddox catapulted her into the world of the elite. Old money, old ties, old secrets. Marcie may have married into this world— but she’ll never be part of it.
SOMETHING NEW
Then Jason’s boss brings back a new wife from his trip to London. Young, attractive, reckless—nobody can take their eyes off Keisha. Including Marcie’s husband.
SOMETHING YOU CAN NEVER, EVER UNDO…
Some people would kill for the life Marcie has—what will she do to keep it?

My Review

I became a fan of this author with Sarah's debut novel, Behind Her Eyes. So I could not wait to read more books from this author. Cross Her Heart was ok but not as good as the first book. Personally for me this book redeemed. I really enjoyed t…

Temporary Wife Temptation

Image
Book description TEMPORARY WIFE TEMPTATION: Much more than he bargained for…
“You want me to find you a wife?”
“No. I want you to be my wife.”
Garrett Song is this close to taking the reins of his family’s LA fashion empire…until the Song matriarch insists he marry her handpicked bride first. To block her matchmaking, he recruits Natalie Sobol to pose as his wife. She needs a fake spouse as badly as he does. But when passion burns down their chaste agreement, the flames could destroy them all…

My Review

Natalie and Garrett were so good together. Although, they moved fast with their relationship I could feel the chemistry between them. It was hot. Hot enough to light a candle. However, it felt right too. What I mean by this is that sometimes I am not a fan of characters in a story instantly hooking up within the first couple of chapters of a book. It does not feel authentic if not done right. In this case, it was right.

I am Korean. So, I appreciated reading this book.  However, I was …

Decisions

Image
Decisions includes a foreword from Steve Forbes and afterword by Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum.
Sorting out our lives amidst chaos, confusion, and innumerable options is a process we all have in common. The decisions we ultimately make can affect our lives and the lives of others. It’s not always easy. In this empowering guide, business strategy expert Robert L. Dilenschneider shares the choices of notable, visionary decision-makers—from Harry Truman and Henry Ford to Marie Curie and Malala Yousafzai—and explains how you can apply their principles to your own personal and professional real-life scenarios.
Resolve, patience, and practical thinking—take it from these politicians, scientists, economists, inventors, entrepreneurs, theologians, activists, and commanders of war and peace. Their inspiring counsel will give you the tools you need to help change your life. Both big and small, your choices can shape the minutes, days, weeks, and years ahead. …

Property of the State

Image
About Property of the StateSeries: The Black Market (Book 3) Hardcover: 256 pages Publisher: Dafina (January 28, 2020) Kiki Swinson’s novels crackle with breakneck triple-twists, no-limits characters, and an unforgettably brutal portrayal of Southern life. Now she shatters all expectations as a young woman serving time must survive a prisoner-abuse conspiracy . . . Trust no one 
She killed her abusive boyfriend in self-defense. But in jail, violent female gangs paid off by her enemies keep her fearing for her life—and land her in the hospital. From there, a medical testing facility is her one dubious hope for some kind of safety. Watch your back
But from the moment she hits the yard, she and other prisoners are victimized by illegal medical experiments. Injected with lethal diseases and made a test subject for experimental vaccines, she’s clinging to determination by the slimmest thread—until she forms an alliance with a Corrections Officer. Survive the night
Now she’s g

Witness Protection Widow

Image
Book description WITNESS PROTECTION WIDOW:
Can the witness protection program keep her identity secret?
After Allison James finally escapes her marriage to a monster, she becomes the star witness in the case against her deceased husband’s powerful crime family. Now it’s up to US Marshal Jaxson Stevens, Ali’s ex-boyfriend, to keep the WITSEC widow safe. But as the danger escalates and sparks fly, will Jax be able to help Ali escape her ruthless in-laws?


My Review


It has been a long while since I have read a book in this line from Harlequin. I used to devour this line of books. I am a fan of mystery/suspense novels. This line of books is the perfect one for readers like me. Thus the reason when I had the chance to read a book from this line again and by author, Debra Webb, I jumped at it.

Sadly, I found myself really struggling to become engaged with this story and the characters. It was not without effort. The storyline was slow to pick up any type of fast movement. After I while, I fo…

WEEKS

Image
WEEKS
By Jasyn T. Turley
Scifi / Post Apocalyptic Zombie

Phil, Tim, and Dakota are three survivors taking refuge in Atlanta, Georgia. The year is 2027, ten years after a nuclear fallout decimated the known world and left it in shambles. With hordes of the undead flooding their once safe home and a city now depleted of all resources and supplies the three must make a daring gamble. To trek across the States and Canada, looking for a new place to call home; safe from the monsters that plague the lands.

In their daring gamble this trio encounters more than just zombies. They are relentlessly pursued and hunted by both an old and new nemesis’. Trying to survive and stick together, no matter the odds, they must rely on their faith, bond, and past experiences to live through their tribulations. In this world, a fool’s chance is usually their only chance.



My Review


I am a fan of zombie apocalypse stories. It actually has been a little while since I have read one. In this book, there…