Am I Alone

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler’s unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

“We thought this place was our destiny—not our doom.”
 
Pawns in a millennia-old struggle, the young people known only as the Birthday Children were genetically engineered to survive on the planet Omeyocan—but they were never meant to live there. They were made to be “overwritten,” their minds wiped and replaced by the consciousnesses of the monsters who created them.

Em changed all of that.

She unified her people and led a revolt against their creators. Em and her friends escaped an ancient ghost ship and fled to Omeyocan. They thought they would find an uninhabited paradise. Instead, they found the ruins of a massive city long since swallowed by the jungle. And they weren’t alone. The Birthday Children fought for survival against the elements, jungle wildlife, the “Grownups” who created them . . . and, as evil corrupted their numbers, even against themselves.

With these opponents finally defeated, Em and her people realized that more threats were coming, traveling from across the universe to lay claim to their planet. The Birthday Children have prepared as best they can against this alien armada. Now, as the first ships reach orbit around Omeyocan, the final battle for the planet begins.

My Review

This book is a fitting ending in this trilogy. If you have not read the first book than you need to go do so right away. Not only because these books are meant to be read in chronological order but because if you like dystopian novels with strong characters than you need to check this trilogy out.

Em and the rest of the group might be fighting their biggest battle yet. Their friendships will be tested. Additionally, death will come to some. The planet of Omeyocan is another element of what I liked about this trilogy. It is a very unique world. Just when I thought I knew it all, it seemed like I was still discovering things about the planet. Talk about action. There was plenty of it to keep the story flowing at a nice, fast pace. I was not disappointed by the ending. It was a fitting and good one. I can't wait to see what Mr. Sigler comes out with next. This trilogy does deserve a spot up there with the Hunger Games, Maze Runner, and Divergent.

You can request a copy of this book on Netgalley until March 7th.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Colorado Dream

Puck

Hockey Karma