All Systems Down




24 hours.
That's all it takes.
A new kind of war has begun.
Pak Han-Yong's day is here. An elite hacker with Unit 101 of the North Korean military, he's labored for years to launch Project Sonnimne: a series of deadly viruses set to cripple Imperialist infrastructure.

And with one tap of his keyboard, the rewards are immediate.
Brendan Chogan isn't a hero. He's an out-of-work parking enforcement officer and one-time collegiate boxer trying to support his wife and children. But now there's a foreign enemy on the shore, a blackout that extends across America, and an unseen menace targeting him.
Brendan will do whatever it takes to keep his family safe.

In the wake of the cyber attacks, electrical grids fail, satellites crash to earth, and the destinies of nine strangers collide.

Strangers whose survival depends upon each other's skills and courage.
For fans of REVOLUTION, Tom Clancy, and Thom Stark's MAY DAY, ALL SYSTEMS DOWN is a riveting cyber war thriller which presents a threat so credible you'll be questioning reality.



My Review

This is the first book in this series. Which, I thought was a good showing for the first book. The further I got into the story, the more it picked up speed in action and intensity. Although, as much as there was intensity, it did not hold up fully for me. The issue for me were the characters. They did not engage me. Also, if I wanted to like them, I found most of them annoying. In fact, I felt bad for Brendan that he was stuck with some of the people.

My favorite parts involved the North Korean and Pak Han-Yong. This is because they were more engaging in their reactions and interactions with each other. The thought that what Pak Han-Yong unleashed on the Untied States is very scary for the simple reason that it could become a reality. The second half of the story is better. Overall, I liked this book and might read the next one.




Sam Boush has worked as a wildland firefighter, journalist, and owner of a mid-sized marketing agency. Though he’s lived in France and Spain, his heart belongs to Portland, Oregon, where he lives with his wife, Tehra, two wonderful children, and a messy cat that keeps them from owning anything nice.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Fatal Obession + Giveaway

Let's Get Buck Naked!

Murder by Perfection + Giveaway