President's Day

For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah.
In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key.
Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward investments. But the one time in his life he got in over his head, he left another man holding the bag, and made an enemy for life, one who has nothing to lose. Now, Mellow has an even greater ambition to select the next President of the United States and to make that man do his bidding, in business and beyond.
It all ties to an African nation where his son died years before, where a brutal dictator still rules supreme, and where a resistance movement lurks in the alleys, waiting for the right time to strike. Margolis spans the globe to weave together a brilliant story of politics at its most venal, where murder is a part of the political process, where anyone’s life is up for sale, and where one man that bad penny of an enemy could bring the whole kingdom toppling.
As the new President is inaugurated, Seth Margolis has penned a perfect thriller for the voting public, one that asks who really puts the next person in the White House and at what cost?
 
 My Review

Just call him the "puppetmaster". Julian Mellow is not your typical investment millionaire. He has an agenda and part of that agenda includes a "puppet" aka The President. Julian has found just the man he can mold and shape into the perfect candidate. Although, it will not be without risk or some blood being spilled. Zach Springer didn't realize just how big a story he was following until he started putting all of the pieces together. The one clue that ties everything together is...Julian Mellow.

Mr. Margolis writes a believable story. Which just so happens to be playing out in today's world. As Mr. Margolis says "A rich billionaire turns President". Ok, so maybe Julian himself is not President but he pretty much could be considered as his candidate is an extension of him. I like how the story drew me in and did not try to fool me with lots of twists but just good storytelling. The battle of the wits between Julian and Zach was intriguing. The story kept building as I kept reading and getting further deeper into the story. I look forward to read more books from this author. Presidents' Day has gotten my stamp of approval.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble


 
 
About Seth Margolis
Seth Margolis lives with his wife in New York City and has two grown children. He received a BA in English from the University of Rochester and an MBA in marketing from New York University’s Stern School of Business Administration. When not writing fiction, he is a branding consultant for a wide range of companies, primarily in the financial services, technology and pharmaceutical industries. He has written articles for the New York Times and other publications on travel and entertainment.

Connect with Seth

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

Seth Margolis’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, July 24th: Men Reading Books
Wednesday, July 26th: Bibliotica
Monday, July 31st: Tales of a Book Addict
Wednesday, August 2nd: Write Read Life
Monday, August 7th: Book Nerd
Tuesday, August 8th: Buried Under Books
Thursday, August 10th: Mystery Suspense Reviews
Friday, August 11th: Cheryl’s Book Nook
Monday, August 14th: Staircase Wit
Tuesday, August 15th: Helen’s Book Blog
Wednesday, August 16th: Blogging with A
Thursday, August 17th: Tome Tender
Monday, August 21st: Brooke Blogs
Wednesday, August 23rd: Patricia’s Wisdom
Thursday, August 24th: The Book Diva’s Reads
Friday, August 25th: Girl Who Reads
Monday, August 28th: Jersey Girl Book Reviews
Monday, September 4th: Jathan & Heather
 

Comments

Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Popular posts from this blog

Colorado Dream

The Introvert

Joseph's Journey