The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob -- a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life -- hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world... and for once, it isn't Charley's doing.

There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, and hopefully before anyone gets to The End.


My Review

For a book lover like me this was a fantastic book. I have read a few other books with this similar concept of a book coming alive. Yet, this is probably one of the best books I have read. It truly was a story within a story. 

Imagine playing with the Cat in the Hat, or talking with Charles Dickens, or maybe visiting the Secret Garden. I know that I do every time that I read a book; I go places and meet people. However, to do so in real life would be a dream come true. 

Although, what would a grand adventure be without an evil man following you trying to stop you. So, mix this with all of the places and people our three main character leads encounter and you get a magical/fantasy read. I recommend this book.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Let's Get Buck Naked!

8 Apps Every Writer Should Have

After the Rain is a good read with nice characters.