Posts

Sissie Klein Is Completely Normal

Image
  One mistake can steal your innocence. One promise can plague a friendship. One secret can tear apart a family. Sissie Klein barely remembers the night that tore her from the carefree life she knew. Not long after the shocked teen is pushed into marriage, she’s rushed to the hospital where a catastrophic delivery seals her destiny. Sissie is determined to give her daughter the opportunities she forfeited, but some fates can’t be avoided. Tragedy strikes, leaving behind a legacy of deceit—and an orphaned toddler. Told with heartbreaking honesty and shrewd humor,  Sissie Klein Is Completely Normal examines the ties that bind us—some inherited, others chosen—none without their share of agonizing tangles. My Review I have not read the first book in this series but after finishing this book, I do want to go back and learn more about Lark. There are many things that could have set this book up to not be a good one but none of those were present in this book.  Examples are having a downcast

Involuntary Exit

Image
  It can take less than a minute to get fired. Less than a minute to hear the words that change your life as you’ve known it. You’re stunned, shocked, humiliated—because your career has defined your life and you’ve been blindsided. You’re a company Loyalist with a capital L, and you’ve been sucker-punched professionally. How do you even talk about this? Countless books focus on leadership and resilience, but none of them take you through what actually happens to women leaders who are suddenly let go, or who endure untenable circumstances and ultimately fire themselves. None of them take you, step by step, through the emotional process of acceptance and beginning again. And that’s where  Involuntary Exit  comes in. With advice for every unexpected twist, turn, and emotional trigger, this book is based on author Robin Merle’s experience at the top of billion-dollar organizations, as well as her interviews with accomplished women who were suddenly severed from their organizations and navi

Book Review: Bobos Babes Adventures: A Magical Halloween + Giveaway

Image
  Join us for this tour from Oct 11 to Oct 22, 2021! Book Details: Book Title :  BOBOS BABES ADVENTURES: A MAGICAL HALLOWEEN by Karen M. Bobos Category :  Children's Fiction (Ages 3-10),  30 pages Genre :  Children's Picture Book, Fairy Tale Publisher :  Bobos Babes, Ltd. Release date:    September 2021 Content Rating :  G for everyone.  It's a children's Halloween-themed book about magic and sisterhood. Book Description: It’s Halloween time in the land of Harmony, and the Bobos Babes are ready for some fun! When Angel Scarlett, Fairy Cora, and Princess Daphne visit Lily the Ladybug’s Boutique to look for Halloween costumes, they find Lily has left aside three special masks for them. The ladybug informs the sisters that they must wait until noon on Halloween to try on the mysterious masks but assures them they will have the best costumes in all of the land of Harmony. The sisters can hardly wait, counting down the minutes on Halloween until they can don their curious ma

The Tannery

Image
  July 5, 1900, Wilkes County, North Carolina: The beautiful young daughter of tannery owner Jakob Schumann is found dead on the north bank of the Yadkin River, brutally beaten, a skinning knife in her chest. Who killed Rachel Schumann? And why? Ambitious Wilkes prosecutor Vincent Taliaferro has arrested Virgil Wade, a mixed-race boy, and is convinced the case is open and shut. But local lawyer Ben Waterman is not so sure. Ben's investigation uncovers evidence that undermines the prosecutor's case and points in an entirely different direction. But can he prove it? Can he convince an all-White, all-male jury of Virgil's innocence? The Tannery transports readers to the turbulent world of the post-Reconstruction South. Reflecting issues prominent in today's headlines, themes of Black voter suppression and intimidation, the violence and depravity of vigilante "justice," and the rise of Jim Crow drive the narrative to its dramatic and surprising conclusion.   My Re

Book Review: Cynthia Starts a Band

Image
EVEN AMERICA’S SWEETHEART POP-SUPERSTAR HAS TROUBLE FINDING THEIR VOICE IN THE HEARTBREAKINGLY HONEST DEBUT NOVEL FROM OLIVIA SWINDLER Eleanor Quinn lives a life most young girls dream of. She’s the lead singer of a wildly successful band, dating the most beautiful man in America, and in love with her life on tour. She pours her heart into every song she writes and genuinely enjoys connecting with fans. So, when she disappears after her fiance’s fairy-tale perfect proposal on stage, the world is shocked. Worse yet, he starts telling interviewers that Eleanor is crazy -- possibly even a danger to herself and those around her. As the weeks go by, the world wants to know: Who is Eleanor Quinn really? But Eleanor needs to find that out for herself. Broken and filled with self-doubt after the proposal, Eleanor embarks on a journey to regain agency in her life. She needs to reconnect with the Ellie Quinn underneath pop sensation “Eleanor Quinn.” Determined to find herself again, she moves in

Book Review: House of Shadows

Image
Release Date: October 19 USA Today  bestselling author K.A. Linde returns to the Royal Houses series with House of Shadows: the story of Kerrigan Argon, a half-Fae, half-human as she seeks her place in an unforgiving world filled with magic, mayhem, and romance. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Holly Black, and V.E. Schwab. Kerrigan Argon, a half-human, half-Fae, has joined the Dragon Society against almost everyone’s wishes. A year of training is required with her dragon. First she must travel with the dark Fae prince, Fordham Ollivier, back to his home in the House of Shadows. Nothing but slavery and death has ever awaited a half-Fae in their halls. But something is wrong within their wicked world. A thousand year old spell is weakening. Cracks forming in the foundation. And Kerrigan may just be their ruin or their salvation. My Review I did not realize at first that this book was book two in this series. Yet, having not read the first book I did not have any iss

Book Review: Pink

Image
  “A new Christmas story to enjoy for the holiday season from the queen of Christian romantic suspense.” Ethan Cooper, a high-powered corporate attorney in New York City, seemingly has it all. Drawn to the city after law school, he escaped life in his hometown of Charleston, South Carolina, and his family’s notoriety. Years later, the strained relationship with them reaches new heights when Charlotte Rose, a part-time stationery designer and mechanical engineer, enters his work life. Together, they embark upon the journey to bring a racketeering terrorist to justice, tied to a gang responsible for the death of Ethan’s wife utilizing both of their skill sets and that of friends. In the process, Christmas romance softens his heart as he is drawn to her southern charms, kindness, and warmth. With her influence upon his life, Ethan discovers he is missing the most important aspect of his life, love. Will they both heal from the profound loss of a spouse, with God’s leading, and learn to lo