The Bone Houses




Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.


My Review

Ryn is my kind of heroine. She is not afraid to weld an ax and chop off a few heads. She is fearless but kind as well. Ellis is good too but I do feel that he was not on the same level as Ryn. He felt more like a secondary character. However, the mysterious surrounding him is what kept him interesting.

There is some romance between Ryn and Ellis but it is not the main focal point in this story. In addition, the romance does not show up until later in the story which I appreciated. This is the type of story that actually does not really need romance. However, I kind of get the reasoning behind it being in the story.

The whole time that I was reading this book; I was playing it out in my head. This book would make a good movie. A fitting and good ending to this story. I do plan to keep my eyes out for the next book from this author. Both the living and the dead are sure to love The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Let's Get Buck Naked!

The Good Man + Giveaway

Dangerous Flaws + Giveaway