Evil and Rome are in the details while burning

There's a scourge on the streets of Los Angeles. A serial killer is stalking, capturing, torturing, and killing young teenage boys. FBI Profilers Special Agent Steve Hoffman and Special Agent John Swenson are working with Los Angeles County Sheriff's Detective Jim O'Brian to catch this elusive killer. However, with each turn the investigation takes into the murders, the more puzzling they become. The deeper the investigation goes, the darker the soul of its source. It's a race against not only time; it is also a race against The Iron Eagle, who they all know is working to unravel the mystery and capture the killer. Who will solve the crimes and end the terror? Only time will tell.

Purchase a signed copy here

My Review

Ok, while I did really like the first book in this series, I was not in love with the characters as a whole, particularly FBI Agent Steve Hoffman and Jim O'Brian. I thought that they were not as strong as they could be while tracking down the Iron Eagle. It seemed that FBI Agent John Swenson was the only one that had an edge on him. Although even as you read these books you will find that the Iron Eagle is not really a bad guy but just misunderstood for what he does. He does not play by any rules but his own and if he is coming after you for justice, than you better hope he does not find you.

After reading this book, all of the things that I found lacking in the first book where here in the second one. Both Jim and Steve were stronger and stepped up to the plate. I found a good working relationship between all three men. The Iron Eagle still strong as ever. I did not think that the punishment that the Iron Eagle dealt out could get any worse but I was wrong. Although at this point I was used to it. I can not wait to read book three.

“Rome Is Burning” is secret government code for a potential terrorist attack in the U.S. The City of Los Angeles is in danger, and no one knows it. Special Agent John Swenson, aka The Iron Eagle, and Sheriff’s Homicide Detective Jim O’Brian have been in search of a serial killer with a twist: a terrorist plot of tremendous proportions. A disgraced Marine Corps Colonel has hatched a plan with her subordinates to destroy the city of Los Angeles and kill millions of its citizens. John Swenson, also a highly decorated former Marine Corps MARSOC black operative, must step out of his role as FBI agent and back into his military training to stop what will be the worst terrorist attack in U.S. history. Swenson and O’Brian engage with Swenson’s retired unit to attempt to stop the devastation. With every turn in the investigation and hunt for the terrorists, a deeper anti-government plot is uncovered, and the only thing standing in the way of death and destruction for a city and a nation is The Iron Eagle and his team of black operatives.

Purchase a signed copy here

My Review

The intensity continues in book three. By this point I have really grown close to Jim, Steve, and John. Each one is a tough ass in his own way but I like this as they handle and look at each case from a different angle.

However in this book the Iron Eagle took a little step back and was not the main focus. Yet, I liked getting to see his human side. Well if you the Iron Eagle has two different sides. They both fight for the same thing...deliverance to the evil ones. I think in this book that the Iron Eagle did meet his match and the enemy in this book really tested the Iron Eagle's wits. The storyline in this book was not just kill and be killed but it also added another layer with the poetry associated with the killings. I have not read so much gruesome heinous acts since Chelsea Cain. Another favorite author of mine. These books are so addicting. Onward to book four.

On May 11, 1995, at 30, Roy’s life was irrevocably changed. After walking into the hospital, he was admitted and later received the worst possible diagnosis – Primary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis. His doctors gave him two years to live, and he left the hospital in a wheelchair. Roy, not one for giving up, and having a, then, three-year-old daughter and an 11-year-old son, went immediately into human subjects research at UCLA and spent 12 years (1995–2007) as a human research subject. His experience gave him a unique look behind the scenes of medicine and the processes that are required to get drugs through the research chain, from the animal research phase to using those drugs in humans in clinical trials, and, if successful, on to the FDA for approval. Roy participated in four major experimental drug trials, and one of those ended up giving him thyroid cancer, which was diagnosed in January 2001.

Current Project

In 2014, Roy began publishing his latest and largest project – a 15-book 30-book geographically-centered hard boiled, mystery, suspense, thriller crime series: “The Iron Eagle Series.” The main character, a former Marine Corps Black Operative turned rogue FBI agent, hunts serial killers in Los Angeles. Each novel addresses different subjects, and while fiction, all titles deal with real world subject matter. “The Iron Eagle Series” is not about things that can’t hurt you. What happens in these novels can happen to any one of us if we let our guard down and/?or are in the wrong place at the wrong time.


Popular posts from this blog

Let's Get Buck Naked!

Don't Say a Word: A Daughter's Two Cents