Sunday, August 17, 2014

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone

For fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award-finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won't let her go.

From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison's life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.
—Adele Griffin

My Review

I have not read many docu-novels. In fact, I could count how many on one hand. I have to say that after reading this one that there should be more docu-novels. This book is my first introduction to author, Adele Griffin. Wow, Mrs. Griffin can write. For a spilt moment I actually believed that this book was based on a real person. This is kudos to the author's writing skills and how well this book was put together. I read that the author was thinking of just writing the docu-novel and then she imagined Addison as a real person, so she added pictures and artwork of Addison's. This is what pushed the book over the top for me. If it had just been a book it would have been fine but the pictures really helped tell the story.

I liked the way that the author presented this book in interview format with the interviews being short. It was like having conversations with the people. I felt like I was there listening to all of Addison's friends and family remember her life. No matter how you slice it up, the end result is still tragic. A young life was taken so soon in the peak time. Addison is forever remembered in The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone.

No comments: