The German Heiress




For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family’s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.
Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who’s hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other—if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.
Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.


My Review



I am a fan of historical books both fiction and nonfiction. Thus the reason that I wanted to read this book.

The story starts after Clara is escaping to find her friend, Elisa. Which in this case, I kind of wanted to read about Clara's efforts in which she earned her nickname, The Iron Fraulein. It would have helped me to form that quicker bond towards Clara. Despite, this fact, I did like Clara.

Jakob was the other main character in this story. He and Clara worked well together. He did not overshadow Clara but helped to add to the story. However, I struggled with this book a bit. There was not that strong bond that I ever formed with Clara or Jakob. Additionally, the story did seem to move slower at times. Overall, though I did find this book to be a good read.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Let's Get Buck Naked!

8 Apps Every Writer Should Have

After the Rain is a good read with nice characters.